One of THOSE Teachers

Am I becoming one of THOSE teachers? You know, one of THOSE teachers who talks a good game but… Or one of THOSE teachers who are always jumping into the latest educational theory or technological gizmo, gadget, widget or whatever. You know, always talking about the latest this and that and yet they can’t back it up with student achievement. I certainly want to be one of those teachers, but not one of THOSE teachers. 

So, what is the difference between one of those teachers and one of THOSE teachers? The only difference is my own small mindedness. Perhaps I had been jealous, envious, scornful (too strong of a description) of my colleagues who were so “showy”  My own unwillingness to break from what has been successful in the past has held me back as an educator. I think I’m getting back to this idea of being a relevant teacher. I want to be one of those teachers who are relevant, passionate, successful and whose students are achieving.

I know some of those teachers. I work with many. I have “met” numerous others via social media. Incredible, creative, caring, humble people who through their work challenge me daily to get better. I want to be one of those teachers. And, I’m calling you out: Thank you @druinok, @rachelrosales, @approx_normal, @chuckcbaker, @gwaddellnvh, @dtelgenhof, @StatsMonkey, @mrmathman, @tmaynard, @slefebreHHS, @anthonydilaura, @gceithaml, @hpsdutch, and @ whole bunch more of you for inspiring me. You willingly share your ideas, activities, knowledge and passion for education.

OK, I’m going to work on being one of those teachers, but I promise never to become one of those teachers who jam the copy machine and leave the mess for someone else to clean up. I promise.

Julie @jkindred13

Leave a Reply

