iBooks Author meets Interactive Notebooks!! #Made4Math

My last post was about being a “Twitter Taker”. Well, today I going to try giving. This is my first attempt to add something to the awesome #Made4Math blog. So here it goes:

I created an ebook interactive text for my AP Stats classes last year, and I thought it worked quite well. However, writing notes or doing examples was a bit awkward. My kids didn’t know if they should use the “note” feature or use a note-taking app or use a traditional notebook. Most figured something out that worked for them. Fine. I still wasn’t satisfied. But, the magic of twitter revealed a solution. Interactive Notebooks (INBs). I plan on having my students create INBs while using our ebook. Hence, iBA meets INBs!

My contribution this Monday is what I am calling anĀ INB Starter Kit. Now, the @s I tweet with are these amazing creative teachers. I mean crazy, craftily, creatively pinteresty types. You should read about them here and here. Although crazy, I’m not crafty. What I put together is a simple kit of supplies students will need to create INBs. I have tables instead of desk in my room, so I plan on placing one of these kits for each group of 4 students.

ImageIncluded in the kit:

  • Colored Pencils
  • Crayons
  • Glue
  • Paste
  • Scissors
  • Tape
  • Ruler
  • Dry Erase Markers
  • Red, Yellow, Green Cards for Quick Check for Understanding

There is it, my first #Made4Math contribution.

Julie @jkindred13